THE BALCONY BLUES: The nest box camera

My bird box camera kit
My bird box camera kit

Inspired by Springwatch and to celebrate national nest box week, I decided to treat myself to a bird box with a colour camera and microphone. With the help of my DIY Dad, it took a couple of hours to fix the bird box onto the wall of my first floor flat and install the camera onto my tv.

A birds eye view of the inside of the nest box
A birds eye view of the inside of the nest box

I have a bird feeder on my balcony which attracts blue tits, so I was feeling optimistic! The next morning, I opened my curtains at 8.00am and was thrilled to see a pair of blue tits sitting inside the hole of the box!  It didn’t take them long at all to find it and start investigating to find out if it would make a suitable home.

Blue tit checking out the nest box!
Blue tit checking out the nest box!

There are no birds making a nest just yet, but I am already optimistic that my bird box camera has been a good investment. The only problem now is that I am finding it very hard to tear myself away from my TV screen! I think I am going to have to say goodbye to my social life if birds DO start nesting there!

Leave a Reply

