THE MARSHLAND BADGERS: Finding a badger sett

When planning a wildlife walk I often go with an animal in mind I would like to spot. In my case, it is usually a bird I have never seen before or would like to photograph. But I usually go with an open mind, and what makes the walk really interesting is when I spot something unexpectedly.

During a walk at a nature reserve in Staffordshire with my Mum, we soon found ourselves surrounded by animal holes and homes.

Numerous animal burrows
Numerous animal burrows

But as we continued walking, we noticed more and more clues which gave us an idea of what type of animals were living here. Had we found a badger sett?

Digging

Disturbed Earth. Possible sign of a badger digging for grubs and bulbs.
Disturbed Earth. Possible sign of a badger digging for grubs and bulbs.
Further signs of digging
Further signs of digging

Tracks

A badger has 5 toes on each foot but their tracks usually only show 4.

Badger Track?
Badger Track?
Possible Badger Tracks?
Possible Badger Tracks?

A Badger Latrine

Badgers dig small pits for use as latrines which are then left open.

A badger latrine?
A badger latrine?

Badger Fur

We spotted this fur on some barbed wire near to the sett.

130_1349 130_1351

A Badger Sett

A hole far too big for a rabbit, disturbed earth and leaves from digging and what appear to be badger tracks in the wet mud leading to the possible badger sett.

A badger sett?
A badger sett? Click on image to enlarge.
Badger sett entrance
Badger sett entrance

I am planning to set up my camera trap as the last piece of the puzzle to find out if this is indeed a badger sett. If it is, this will be very exciting for me as this will be the first time I have seen a badger and badger sett.

Leave a Reply

