Long Tailed Tits Building a Nest at Westport Lake (1st April 2014)

I set off to Westport Lake today after work. The sun was shining for the first time in a while and once again I set off on a mission to film the great crested grebes performing the courtship dance. Once I had found them, I kept my eye on the pair of grebes for at least an hour, but I had no luck.

IMG_7366

Then behind me in the woodland I heard the familiar high pitched ‘tsee’ of one of my favourite birds, the long tailed tit.

IMG_7388 IMG_7386

I noticed a pair of them hopping between the branches of a tree. Then one landed in a mossy patch in a low bush. As I stood and watched I realised they were making a nest.

FACT: A long tailed tit makes a nest of lichen, moss and cobwebs in a low bush.

I am surprised as they are building their nest very close to the main path where the public walk. I have made a mental note of where the nest is and will definately be keeping an eye on it.

You can see the wire separating the woodland from the main path which shows how close the nest is to the main path.
You can see the wire separating the woodland from the main path which shows how close the nest is to the main path.
Leave a Reply

