First sighting of a mallard duckling this spring at Wolseley Centre (19th April 2014)

My mum and I had spotted a mallard with at least a dozen ducklings on a pond at Cannock Chase that day. They were so quick, they had swam off before I had managed to get my camera into focus.

Luckily, we visited the Wolseley Centre on the way home and spotted another mallard, but this time, there was only one duckling. He was a mischievous little thing and it looked as though this mum had her hands, or should I say wings full with this little youngster who was diving for weeds and waddling onto the bank and back into the water again. He did manage to stay still long enough so that I could get my first photograph of a mallard duckling this spring.

duckling

Leave a Reply

