TAILS OF A NATURE RESERVE: Apedale Country Park (12th April 2014)

Apedale Country Park is about a 5 minute drive from where I live and has lots to offer to anyone who has an interest in wildlife.

The park has 184 hectares of woodland, meadow and pools. It offers various nature trails, pond dipping, organised events and festivals including an annual kite festival and educational activities. The park has a visitor centre and a heritage centre where families can take train rides at the Apedale Valley Light Railway. The cafe at the heritage centre offers oatcakes which are a delicacy of Staffordshire.

Plenty of wildlife can be seen at Apedale and it is one of my favourite nature reserves due to the variety of habitats and wildlife and friendly and helpful staff and volunteers who work there and are willing to help in the pursuit of various wildlife.

During my visit, I spotted plenty of wildlife including jays, goldfinches, robins, blue tits, great tits, buzzards, toads, grass snakes, damselflies, dragonflies, butterflies and rabbits to name but a few. One volunteer ranger, Geoff, who I met on my visit also informed me of a tawny owl living in the woods as well as green woodpeckers, and helped me in my search to find my first ever grass snake. Unfortunately I didn’t spot the tawny owl or woodpeckers that day, but here are a few photographs from my visit…

Bluebells

Bluebells at Apedale
Bluebells at Apedale…

Bluebells at Apedale.

IMG_0669

 

Pond Life

A water boatmen.
A water boatmen.

 

Spot the toad
Spot the toad
A damselfly
A damselfly
Grass Snake
Grass Snakes can be seen in and around the pond.

Bird Life

A goldfinch. There are plenty of these flying about near the heritage centre.
A goldfinch. There are plenty of these flying around near the Heritage Centre.
Buzzards can be seen flying over the pond by the heritage centre.
Buzzards can be seen flying over the pond by the Heritage Centre.

Mammals

A squirrel nest (drey).
A squirrel nest (drey).
A rabbit warren
A rabbit warren
Spot the rabbit!
Spot the rabbit!
Three baby rabbits (kits) at the warren.
Three baby rabbits (kits) at the warren.

Insects

Peacock Butterfly
Peacock Butterfly
I think this is a small heath butterfly.
I think this is a small heath butterfly.

Map of Apedale Country Park 

IMG_0719

Leave a Reply

