TAILS OF A NATURE RESERVE: Carsington Water (14th April 2014)

IMG_0321

First day of the Easter holidays I decided to make my way to Carsington Water in Derbyshire. I was on a mission. To see, photograph and film the courtship dance of the great crested grebe.

I arrived at 10.30am. As you will see from a previous blog, I did manage to see, photograph and film the courtship dance of the great crested grebe from the Paul Stanley bird hide.

grebe 2

Carsington Water has four bird hides in total. Various wetland birds can be seen from the hides. Bird feeders are also located outside the hides where smaller birds such as chaffinch, coal tits, blue tits and great tits can be seen.

The weather was very hot and sunny which made spotting birds and other wildlife at the reserve much easier…

Pied Wagtail by the lake.
Pied Wagtail by the lake.
Pied Wagtail
Pied Wagtail
My first sighting of a cormorant.
My first sighting of a cormorant.
Cormorant drying his wings.
Cormorant drying his wings.
Singing Chaffinch
Singing Chaffinch
Chiffchaff
Chiffchaff
A pair of very happy spring lambs
A pair of very happy spring lambs

IMG_0210

 

Peacock Butterfly
Peacock Butterfly

Wildlife outside the Paul Stanley Hide

 

Pheasants outside the Paul Stanley hide.
Pheasants outside the Paul Stanley hide.

IMG_0263

One of my favourites, the blue tit.
One of my favourites, the blue tit.
A rat making the most of scraps at the bottom of the bird feeder.
A rat making the most of scraps at the bottom of the bird feeder.

Carsington Water is part of Severn Trent Water and was opened in 1992 by the Queen. There are plenty of footpaths, courtyard, restaurant and shops including a very well stocked RSPB shop.

My visit to Carsington brought with it a lot of firsts for me. My first sighting of a cormorant, chiffchaff and my favourite, the courtship dance of the great crested grebe.

Leave a Reply

