THE BALCONY BLUES: The Blue Tits Fledge.

I woke up on 2nd June, turned on my TV and the nest box was not how I left it the night before.

A lot of pupils have been asking how the blue tits are. I can tell you that very early on 2nd June, 3 out of the 6 blue tits fledged. I didn’t see it happen unfortunately and I felt a pull on my heartstrings when I saw that they had gone. I am very sorry to say that the other 3 blue tits didn’t make it. I don’t know why, it could be inexperienced parents.

Blue tits can lay as many as 16 eggs. If all blue tit eggs hatched and fledged I am sure we would be knee deep in blue tits! This is natures way. I am a positive person and looking on the positive side 3 out of 8 blue tit chicks managed to fledge. That I think is a success story.

Here is their story…

Leave a Reply

