CREEPY CRAWLIES: Damsels and Dragons

I have to admit, I rarely pay a lot of attention to the mini wildlife world, but I have become very fascinated by the smaller creatures, particularly damselflies and dragonflies. I have spotted plenty of these at the Attenborough Nature Reserve in Nottingham and also around the pond at Apedale Country Park in Staffordshire.

The dragonflies are always great to see, buzzing around like little helicopters. The damselflies are much smaller and can often be seen flying over ponds.

I spotted one damselfly on a leaf at the Attenborough Nature Reserve and before I knew it, I had spent quite a while taking photos of these very interesting, electric blue minibeasts. 

Attenborough nature reserve 28.7.14 (90) Attenborough nature reserve 28.7.14 (111) Attenborough nature reserve 28.7.14 (123)

I also spotted a comma butterfly. Look closely and you can see the butterfly feeding…

Attenborough nature reserve 28.7.14 (86)

I took a visit to Apedale Country Park on a very cloudy and drizzly day. I spotted three dragonflies over the pond. I sat and watched them for a while and soon discovered that each displayed a different type of behaviour. 

The brown dragonfly was a very busy character. Darting around the pond, landing on pieces of weed and wood to drink and feed, staying just long enough for me to get a few photographs before buzzing off to another part of the pond.

IMG_9941 IMG_9928

The red dragonfly was a lot more chilled out. He buzzed around briefly before landing on the boardwalk next to me. He seemed quite unphased by my presence and allowed me to take plenty of photographs of him. Magnified, it was very clear to see this little dragonfly in great detail. His head tilting from side to side to look at me which can be seen from these photographs…

IMG_9917 IMG_9921

I couldn’t even get a shot of the blue dragonfly! He was so busy buzzing around the pond and I don’t even think he landed the whole time I was there.

Some photographers go to some cruel lengths to photograph dragonflies. In my opinion, with a bit of patience not only can you get a natural photograph of a dragonfly, but I think it is a lot more rewarding too.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

