One of my Favourite Encounters, The Tawny Owl (8th August 2014)

I am pleased to say I have seen quite a few tawny owls now, and yet the sight of one is just as exciting as my very first encounter with one. Any animal encounters are always exciting, but owls are up there in my top 10 favourites. And I’m not the only one who has fallen in love with these almost mythical like creatures.

My first clear photograph of an adult tawny owl in Staffordshire. Thank you to David Nixon, local owl expert who helped me to get this shot.
My first clear photograph of an adult tawny owl in Staffordshire. Thank you to David Nixon, local owl expert and enthusiast who helped me to get this shot.

Teaching younger children the day usually ends with a story. But the classes I teach can’t wait to hear all about my encounters with kingfishers, robins, my blue tit family and of course the owls.

A lot of my pupils already follow my blog, but showing the blog at the end of the day gives them the opportunity to ask questions, and there are plenty of questions! I don’t always know the answers but I will always do my best to find out. From this, children have shared their own encounters, brought in wildlife magazines and photos and after reading my badger blog, now all want a camera trap for Christmas. Eek! Sorry parents! 

But as the school wildlife club develops we have lots of future plans including building a pond, investing in a nest box camera and possibly a trail camera and building further habitats for wildlife.

At the start of the new school year I will be encouraging the wildlife club to start their own blog which will allow all pupils in the school to share their own wildlife encounters. So watch this space!

Leave a Reply

