TAILS OF A NATURE RESERVE: RSPB Burton Mere Wetlands (18th August 2014)

As well as having an obsession with kingfishers, I also have a slight obsession when it comes to little owls. After a bit of research I found that there was one living on a barn at Burton Mere Wetlands. I have a few photos of a little owl at dusk but really wanted to capture one in the daylight. So I set off to the wetlands one drizzly Monday morning.

Unfortunately I chose the wrong day. On this particular day the staff at the wetlands were burning ragwort right beside the barn which had scared the little owl away. He had been spotted earlier that morning sitting on the barn. So I was in the right place but at the wrong time.

The barn where the little owl has been spotted
The barn where the little owl has been spotted
IMG_0214
The Little Owl has been spotted in the little oak tree on the right…
IMG_0215
and on the ledge of this building.

Despite the drizzly day and lack of little owls, I did see plenty of other wildlife that day…

I spotted this young green woodpecker on the car park as I arrived.
I spotted this young green woodpecker on the car park as I arrived.
A buzzard
Buzzard

IMG_0149

IMG_0145
Red Admiral
IMG_0143
Speckled Wood

I also took a walk along the Dee Estuary which was only 5 minutes away.

IMG_0206
Dee Estuary

This was a great place for cyclists, so when I saw this elephant hawk moth caterpillar crawling across the path, I had to rescue him from being squashed by a passing cyclist.

Elephant Hawk Moth caterpillar
Elephant Hawk Moth caterpillar

I also saw what I  now think could be young pied wagtails?

IMG_0193

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

