TAILS OF A NATURE RESERVE: RSPB Old Moor and a starling murmuration taster (21st August 2014)

I took a visit to RSPB Old Moor in Yorkshire during the summer holidays. I would really like to visit as many nature reserves around the UK as I possibly can. I have to say, outside of Staffordshire so far, none have beaten my favourite RSPB reserve, Leighton Moss in Lancashire.

It took me just over 2 hours to get to Old Moor nature reserve. I made my way to the ‘Bittern hide’ where a kingfisher had been spotted that day. I waited in the very busy hide. It was a young girl who spotted the kingfisher first. He came quite close and at one point was hovering over the lake in search of fish.

Kingfisher
Kingfisher

Further along in another hide I noticed a bird of prey flying over the lake. Unfortunately it isn’t the best photograph, but it was definitely a marsh harrier.

IMG_0327

So I wasn’t surprised, even though it was only August, when I saw a very small starling murmuration over the reeds. This reminded me of one of the reasons why I do look forward to the winter months. The other visitors in the hide were also enjoying this little taster of what is to come as the weather gets colder.

IMG_0321 IMG_0320 IMG_0319 IMG_0325

Leave a Reply

