Robin encounters, my top wildlife moment!

I discovered RSPB Middleton Lakes only very recently which is a real shame because what a reserve! Bird hides, walks, reedbeds, picnic areas, ponds and a lovely tearoom within a courtyard close by. But what I love most about this reserve is the cheeky little robins. I have had plenty of encounters with robins in the past at RSPB Leighton Moss, but the robins at RSPB Middleton Lakes are in a league of their own! I didn’t even have to tempt these little robins down, in fact, the robin in this picture was getting quite impatient waiting for me to produce some dried mealworms for him…

zoe1 (1)
Robin: ‘About time!’

Wondering if it was a fluke, we revisted the reserve again. I noticed a man trying to tempt a robin to his hand but the robin was having none of it so I began to wonder if it had been a one off. I soon realised that the bird seed the man was providing was just not good enough for this robin, as soon as he saw the dried mealworms in my hand he was straight down. And I forgot to mention, it wasn’t a quick visit to the hand and back to the tree, it was a good 30 seconds, which if you think about it is quite a long time to have a robin sitting on your hand.

It is true what they say, the best things in life are free…well, apart from a 99p bag of dried mealworms from Home Bargains!

 

Leave a Reply

