Waxwings in the Westlands, Staffordshire

In winter when days are short and work days seem much longer it can be hard to get a bit of birdwatching in during the weekdays before the nights draw in. So, when I heard a flock of waxwings had been spotted only a 2 minute drive away from where I work, I seized the opportunity and took a visit on my lunch break. I was not disappointed. The views were amazing, however, for such a small little avenue, the amount of cars seemed never-ending! Each time the waxwings settled, a car would hurtle past sending them flying into the higher trees. This can be frustrating at the best of times; even more so when on a time limit! I did get a few shots as they frantically fed off one of the two berry trees on the Avenue. I was extremely reluctant to go back to work, but watching those waxwings took me to another world for just that short time and it made the rest of my work day just that little bit more bearable and stress-free.

waxwing8waxwing9waxwing3waxwing7waxwing6waxwing5waxwing2waxwing

 

 

Leave a Reply

